Swearing-In Ceremony, (Ottawa) June 14, 2013
Swearing in Ceremony, (Ottawa) June 14, 2013
Credit: Andrew Balfour


The Federal Court is Canada's national trial court which hears and decides legal disputes arising in the federal domain, including claims against the Government of Canada, civil suits in federally-regulated areas and challenges to the decisions of federal tribunals. Its authority derives primarily from the Federal Courts Act.

The Federal Court was created in 1971 under the authority of s. 101 of the Constitution Act, 1867 for the "better administration of the laws of Canada". It is a successor to the Exchequer Court of Canada, established in 1875.

According to the Federal Courts Act, the Court consists of a Chief Justice and 36 other judges. At present, there are 33 full-time judges, along with seven supernumerary judges and six prothonotaries.

Until 2003, the Federal Court of Canada consisted of two divisions: an Appeal and a Trial Division. With amendments to the Federal Courts Act coming into force on July 2, 2003, these divisions became two separate courts: the Federal Court of Appeal and the Federal Court.

What's New

RSS Newsfeed Information on the Federal Court.

  Summary: The Applicant, Mr. Alani, applied for a declaration that the Prime Minister must call upon the Governor General to appoint his nominees to the Senate within a reasonable time after a vacancy occurs. He does not ask that the Prime Minister be so ordered. The Deputy Attorney General, on behalf of the Prime Minister and the Governor General, has moved this Court for an order that the application for judicial review be struck at the outset, before it is heard on the merits. He submits it is plain and obvious that the application is bereft of any chance of success. Justice Harrington concludes, on the record before the Court, that it is not plain and obvious that Mr. Alani has no chance of success. This motion to strike is dismissed.
Recently Released Decisions
  Recently released decisions of the Federal Court updated weekly.


Date Modified: 2013-02-11